because what is life without good food?

Super Simple Salsa Fresca

This recipe is one of my dad’s inventions. It’s so simple, yet so good. It is my go-to salsa. I always, always have some of this on hand. Unlike some of my other recipes, this one makes a good hearty amount, enough to keep a pint jar for yourself, and give the other away. Or keep it all for yourself.

Super Simple Salsa Fresca

I like to give the spare jar to my TaeKwonDo instructor and I guess it must be pretty good because I once got a text message from his son asking me for the recipe. He needed to bring something to his Spanish class. So I texted him the recipe. I have to say this is the only recipe I have ever text messaged to someone! It’s a good thing it’s simple …

Simple Salsa Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart jar of canned tomatoes, juice drained. In summer tomato season, I make this with fresh tomatoes. Just make sure to peel them first (dip them in boiling water for a moment and the peel comes right off).
  • 1 onion, cut in large chunks
  • 2 – 3 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 – 2 jalapeno peppers, tops removed (more or less to taste–depends on how hot you like it! Today I used frozen japs.)
  • A handful of fresh cilantro leaves (or parsley if you don’t have cilantro)
  •  1 t. salt

Directions:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a blender and blend well.
  2. Enjoy! Store in the fridge. It keeps well for several weeks.
Super Simple Salsa Fresca
6 responses

  1. Laurel Glisky

    For more chunky salsa, eliminate the blender and chop by hand or pulse minimally in a food processor. Another variation would be to juice out a lime and stir the juice in or add a smidgen or more of tequila to the salsa.

    July 22, 2011 at 6:15 am

    • Ann

      Ooh lime and tequila! Great ideas Laurel. Thank you for commenting :)

      July 22, 2011 at 12:39 pm

  2. I wish I had this now! Thank you so much for sharing on Thursday’s Treasures! There is nothing better than a recipe made from loving memories! <3 and Hugs!

    August 31, 2011 at 11:54 pm

  3. mmmmm simple but full of flavor…
    your dad has great taste :)

    September 21, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  4. Ann

    He does! :)

    September 21, 2011 at 7:31 pm

  5. Pingback: Spinach Avocado Quesadillas « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers