because what is life without good food?

Baked Eggplant Cannellini Burgers with Hummus

Baked Eggplant Cannellini Burgers

I am not a vegetarian. Admittedly, I do have a great affinity for vegetables, but I’ve never ever made vegie burgers before.

But when I saw these Eggplant burgers on the Tolerant Vegan’s blog, I wanted to make them. BADLY … it took me a few days, but I did! I tried to follow her recipe pretty closely, but I never can quite follow directions when I’m cooking.

This time I used the precious white eggplant my mom gave me. See the white one there, hiding amongst the little purple ones? I used the whole thing.  It was over a cup, but not that much.

Eggplant, the Aphrodite of Vegetables

Blending the mixture took me a while because I don’t have a food processor, just a little handi-chopper. I thought my blender would blend it TOO smooth, so I did several batches of blending … it was a messy process that I’m sure would have been MUCH easier with a proper food processor.

Baked Eggplant Cannellini Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 14 ounce can cannellini beans
  • 1/2 an eggplant (should equal about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • Several fresh basil leaves
  • 1 tablespoon pine nuts, toasted
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon Red Robin Seasoning (or seasoned salt)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup hummus (I bet Basil-iferous hummus would be nice in these …)
  • 1 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs
  • 1 T. pesto
  • tomato, sliced for topping (optional)
  • lettuce, for topping (optional)
  • red onion, for topping (optional)

Hey, why do they call red onions “red”? They are not red; they are most definitely purple!

Making Eggplant Burgers

Directions:

  1. Roast the eggplant by cutting it into 1/4″ slices and spraying each side with cooking oil.
  2. Bake for 10 minutes at 400 on one side, then flip and bake on the other side a few minutes till cooked through.
  3. Place the eggplant, onion, beans, parsley, basil, pine nuts, garlic, seasoned salt, hummus and cumin into a large bowl and stir to mix.
  4. Place the mixture into a food processor and blend everything together. This step took me a LOT longer than 15 seconds … (oh if I only had a REAL food processor!)
  5. Pour back into the bowl and stir in the breadcrumbs.
  6. Spray a baking pan with cooking spray. Form into patties and place the “burgers” on the baking pan. Nikki (the Tolerant Vegan) made 4 big burgers. I like to eat little bites of things, so I made 9 “slider size” burgers.
  7. Bake at 400 degrees F. for 20 minutes on one side. Flip the burgers, then bake about 20 – 25 minutes on the other side, till nicely browned.
  8. Serve on buns (or toasted ciabatta!) with hummus, lettuce tomato, red onion and tomato.

Baked Eggplant Cannellini Burgers

Someday (when I find tahini!) I would like to try Nikki’s tahini sauce on these …

Baked Eggplant Cannellini Burgers with Hummus
3 responses

  1. This is such a great recipe. I am picturing mini slider ones. I have been surprised how much I have been enjoying vegetarian items of late

    August 28, 2011 at 11:11 pm

  2. I’m so excited to see that you made the burgers! That white eggplant is GORGEOUS!

    August 29, 2011 at 1:51 pm

  3. Wendy Polisi

    I AM a vegetarian and I’ve never made veggie burgers with Eggplant! I MUST try this recipe!

    August 29, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers