because what is life without good food?

My Dad’s Soft & Wonderful Yogurt Bread

My Dad's Awesome Yogurt Bread

My dad has a special talent for making bread. He has good bread karma. He has to have peanut butter toast every morning with his coffee — and to him, that’s not breakfast. It’s just how he starts his day. Then he has to have breakfast an hour or two after that. So he makes a lot of bread. When you go to my dad’s house, you can be sure that he will have fresh homemade bread on hand.

Lately he has been making his bread with yogurt and he was telling me over the phone about how the bread stays soft and fresh even 3 days later. So when he was here last weekend, he just had to make some for me so I could see it for myself. He made this bread last Sunday. I waited till today (4 days later) to photograph it. It really IS still soft and fresh! Not quite as soft and fresh as it was on Sunday, but if you didn’t know this homemade bread was made 4 days ago, you would think it was fresh.

The other thing that homemade bread often does after 4 days is it kind of dries out and falls apart when you cut it. This yogurt bread actually holds its shape! And it’s soft and fluffy like white bread, but it’s made with 2/3 whole wheat flour. You might also notice there’s no oil or butter in this bread. I am just flabbergasted.

Okay Dad, I’m a believer. Yes, yogurt in bread is a very, very good thing. I just hope when I make it that it turns out just as good!

Dad’s Soft and Wonderful Yogurt Bread

I am adding this note because I’ve gotten some comments asking: yes, there are 2 c. of whole wheat flour, but they are added at separate times. I know he has a reason for this, but I don’t quite know what it is …

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 T. brown sugar
  • 2/3 t. salt
  • 1 1/2 t. yeast
  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 c. bread flour
  • 1 c. plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 c. water

Directions:

  1. Add the ingredients to your bread machine in the order listed.
  2. Put your bread machine on the dough cycle. When the dough cycle is complete, take the dough out and shape it into a loaf in a loaf pan. (Yes, you can just cook it in the bread machine if you prefer to do it that way!)
  3. Let rise in a warm place for 30 – 35 minutes or until it’s big and puffy. (To rise it in the oven, turn the oven on till the bottom element gets red, then turn it off. The oven is then just the right temperature to rise bread.)
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 – 35 minutes or until nicely browned.
Dad's Soft & Wonderful Yogurt Bread
This is part of my series of 31 Days of Warmer Connections. Every day in October, I am blogging about connections through food.
21 responses

  1. Esther Toups

    Why do you have 1 cup whole wheat flour listed twice?

    October 26, 2011 at 2:39 pm

  2. You have 1 c. whole wheat flour twice. Is that correct?

    October 26, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  3. Just checking–there are 2c total of whole wheat flour, put in at separate times? Also, I’m curious why he doesn’t just cook it in the breadmaker. Thanks for the recipe–looks good!

    October 26, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    • Ann

      Yes that’s correct. There are 2 cups of whole wheat flour in there, added at separate times. I am not quite sure why but I will ask him.

      October 26, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    • Ann

      You can cook it in the breadmaker too … we talked about that. He says (and I agree) that it just seems to cook better in a loaf pan and the shape is nicer.

      October 26, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  4. Ann, Thanks for the sweet message on my kielbasa post. How funny that you’re sharing a post having to do with your father, too. :) I’m interested in the venison sausage you mentioned; is it a kielbasa type? What type of fat do you add (as I understand venison to be quite lean)?

    Blessings, ~Lisa

    PS: I love the warm feel of your blog — the brown is so rich!

    October 27, 2011 at 8:46 am

    • Ann

      Hi Lisa! That is funny that we are both posting about our dads. When we make venison sausage, we mix in pork fat with the venison, and we’ve used lots of different kinds of seasonings. I really love your idea of “testing” the seasonings by cooking up a little before you package it. I don’t know why we don’t do that but next time for sure we will! We’ve made bratwursts, venison-apple sausage, chorizo, breakfast sausage, italian sausage, kielbasa. I can’t even remember them all! Every time we make it, it’s a little different. Sometimes we use sausage flavorings that my sister buys from Penzey’s and other times we make our own. Always lots of garlic and mustard seed.

      October 27, 2011 at 8:56 am

  5. Jennifer @ Mother Thyme

    Yum! This bread looks lovely. I love making fresh bread so I’ll have to give this a try!

    October 27, 2011 at 9:34 am

  6. This is a great looking bread, I think it would be delicious. I can’t wait to make this Yogurt Bread! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you have a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

    October 29, 2011 at 7:58 am

  7. I need to make this. I love fresh bread and this sounds fantastic! Any changes you would make if we don’t use a breadmaker and do it the old fashioned way?

    Thanks for linking up at A Little Nosh this week!

    October 29, 2011 at 7:59 am

  8. I love trying new bread recipes, and this one is so unique. I am looking forward to making it this week – thanks for sharing with us.

    October 29, 2011 at 6:43 pm

  9. Oh, I Love This Ann! Thank You So Much for Sharing on Thursday’s Treasures! I can just see your Sweet Daddy making this for you as you sit around the kitchen…taking notes. <3 and Hugs Sweet Friend!

    October 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  10. Ann

    Amy: I don’t think I would change the recipe at all. You would just have to knead the bread by hand of course.

    Debi: yes that’s exactly what I was doing! I sat around drinking my chai tea while he measured out all the ingredients, then I made him sit down with me and tell me exactly how he did it.

    October 30, 2011 at 9:47 am

  11. Pingback: This Week’s Menu Plan « Blessed Roots

  12. Pingback: Soft and Wonderful Yogurt Bread « Blessed Roots

  13. Pingback: Golden Brown and Waiting « Blessed Roots

  14. Pingback: Sweet Onion Melted Gouda (SOMG!) BLT « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  15. Harry

    I am looking forward to making it next week, but I notice your recipe sequence is to add water last. Whereas My Bread maker for non yogurt recipe seems to be in the reverse order (Always add water first).
    Is there any difference?
    Thanks.

    February 2, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    • Ann

      I don’t think so … I usually add it last and the bread turns out ok, but you can change the order if you like.

      February 8, 2013 at 9:07 pm

  16. Marilena

    It was my best wheat flour bread I ever made. I did not change a thing in the recipe, I used my bread machine dough cycle and when finished, I left the dough in it and I set the machine on ” bake only” for 2 hrs baking. Yes, I put the ingredients in the order listed by the recipe and it is flufy, golden and delicious. I make my bread in house and I could not beleave what perfect this recipe is. Thank you 🍞

    February 22, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    • Ann

      Marilena that makes me SO happy! I’m so glad you enjoyed it :)

      February 22, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers