because what is life without good food?

Super Simple Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce

Super Simple Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce

I went looking for an easy Thai Peanut Sauce recipe last night because I’m enthralled with Thai food and I wanted to make Thai Chicken Pizza, but I can never find all the ingredients that authentic Thai recipes seem to require. I couldn’t believe my luck! If you can find fish sauce and Thai-style curry paste, you can make this.

I didn’t follow her recipe very well though, I’m afraid. I just read her recipe, then made it up as I went. The sauce turned out so good, I was using my finger to wipe up every last drop from the bowl. And then I was dreaming of other things I could make with it last night. You do that too, right? Dream about food? Please tell me I’m not completely insane …

Super Simple Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce

Adapted from She Simmers

  • 1/2 of a 15-oz. can of light coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 Tablespoon fish sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons red or green Thai-style curry paste (I had some green open, so I used green, but red would probably be better …)
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon cayenne or Sriracha (optional … I just wanted my sauce to have a little extra zing)

In a small saucepan, over medium-low heat, whisk all the ingredients together. Simmer for 3 – 5 minutes, stirring frequently to keep it from sticking on the bottom of the pan.

Super Simple Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce

Use it as a dipping sauce for shrimp or other little bites, or as a funky pizza sauce for a thai-style pizza … or drizzle it over a sandwich or salad. I’m planning to do all of those things … I probably should have made a bigger batch.

This recipe was shared at Real Housewives Recipe RoundupSouth Asian BlogHop, and Katherine Martinelli’s Coconut Bloghop.

Ann at The Fountain Avenue Kitchen tried this recipe … go see her version too.

16 responses

  1. OMG Ann, this sounds amazing!!!! Great job :)

    March 14, 2012 at 10:43 am

    • Ann

      Thank you Lauren!

      March 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

  2. I have green curry paste in my fridge I need to use up. Great recipe to go with my chicken tonight! :)

    March 14, 2012 at 10:49 am

    • Ann

      Oh it goes AWESOME with chicken, Isabelle! I am having it on my salad with some grilled chicken right now … I hope you love it as much as I do! :)

      March 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

  3. 1) You ROCK! 2) Love this recipe and am looking forward to more ways to use it :) 3) No, you are NOT insane. Either that, or all of us devout foodies are. Love ya, Ann!

    March 14, 2012 at 10:53 am

    • Ann

      Thank you Michele … that is SO nice to know :)

      March 14, 2012 at 11:28 am

  4. my favorite restaurant has chicken satay w/ peanut sauce. I hate having to go there to satisfy my craving, so I cannot wait to try this!! Thanks!

    March 14, 2012 at 11:33 am

    • Ann

      You’re welcome! I hope this does the trick for you!

      March 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm

  5. Pingback: Grilled Thai Chicken Pizza « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  6. Pingback: Thai-Style Barbecued Chicken Salad « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  7. Pingback: Delicious Thai Peanut Noodles in Minutes « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  8. Pingback: The Fountain Avenue Kitchen – Fountain Avenue Friends Recipes

  9. Pingback: The Fountain Avenue Kitchen – Thai Ginger Peanut Sauce

  10. Pingback: The Fountain Avenue Kitchen – Thai Bok Choy Salad

  11. Pingback: A Forager’s Thai-style Peanut Chicken Stirfry « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  12. Pingback: » A Forager’s Thai-style Peanut Chicken Stirfry Sumptuous Spoonfuls

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers