because what is life without good food?

Hot & Cheesy Kale & Salmon Dip

Hot & Cheesy Kale & Salmon Dip

I was seriously craving spinach artichoke dip yesterday … but alas! I am all out of spinach. Hmm, but I have kale … and it occurred to me … why does spinach get all the attention? Shouldn’t kale get to play in the dip too?

I also had some salmon that we had barbecued the other night that needed using, so I threw that in the dip too. By this time, it was getting pretty tasty, so I skipped the artichokes altogether and threw it in the toaster oven to bake. It totally satisfied my craving, and then some. I’m kinda wishing I hadn’t eaten it all … I would really like some more now … these pictures are making me hungry!

I think this dip would be fantastic with shrimp or crab in place of the salmon …

Hot & Cheesy Kale & Salmon Dip

Hot & Cheesy Kale & Salmon Dip

This makes a small portion, just right for 2 people snacking (or one hungry muncher). Double (or triple) the recipe if you are serving to several people.

  • 1 heaping up of kale leaves, chopped roughly (about 2 ribs of kale)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • Several sprigs of fresh dill
  • 3 Tablespoons white wine
  • 3/8 cup of salmon, flaked
  • 1/4 cup fat free plain greek yogurt (or more if you want a creamier dip … I like lots of “stuff” in my dips)
  • about 2 oz. of goat cheese
  • 1/3 cup shredded Dubliner cheese (or parmesan)
  • A bit of shredded mozzarella or Italian blend, for the top

Directions:

  1. Put the kale leaves, garlic, onion, and dill in a food processor or handi chopper and process till the kale is chopped into tiny bits.
  2. Heat a frying pan to medium heat, spray with cooking spray, then add the kale mixture and the wine. Stir it around a little and cover to cook for just a few minutes, then remove the cover and cook a minute longer to evaporate the moisture from the wine.
  3. Mix the kale mixture with the greek yogurt, salmon, goat cheese and shredded Dubliner cheese.  Put in a small casserole or oven-safe bowl and top with a little bit of shredded mozzarella cheese.
  4. Bake at 350 for about 10 – 15 minutes or until the cheese is all melted and bubbly. Serve with chips, crusty slices of bread, or vegies for dipping.

Hot & Cheesy Kale & Salmon Dip

This recipe was shared at Melt in your Mouth MondaysMakin’ you Crave Mondays and Totally Tasty Tuesdays.

4 responses

  1. That sounds really good. I am always looking for ways to use Kale. And with crab I think this would be really tasty.

    June 11, 2012 at 1:08 am

    • Ann

      Thank you! Yes, I agree … it would be really lovely with crab :)

      June 11, 2012 at 7:26 am

  2. Must have! :)

    June 12, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    • Ann

      Yes, you need some of this :)

      June 12, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers